Delegated Administration: Manage Users

In the Client exposed by the Delegated Administration extension, there are two views available: Users and Logs. On the Users view, you can see the display and modify users associated with your Auth0 account.

By default, all users are displayed, but you can filter the displayed list by configuring a filter hook.

Available User Actions in the Delegated Administration Dashboard

The table below lists the options you can perform on users, as well as information on whether the option is available via the Management Dashboard and/or the Delegated Administration extension. To limit the number of options someone with access to the Dashboard exposed by the Delegated Administration extension, configure an access hook.

Action Available in the Management Dashboard Available in the Delegated Administration Extension
Create User Yes Yes
Contact User Yes No
Sign in as User (Impersonation) Yes No
Block User Yes Yes
Delete User Yes Yes
Send Verification Email Yes Yes
Change Email Yes Yes
Change Password Yes Yes
Reset Password No Yes

Notice the new Reset Password option available via the extension. This option will send an email to the user allowing them to choose a new password. To do this click on a user and select Actions > Reset Password.

This will send an email to the user, containing a link to change the password.

If your profile indicates that you have the Delegated Admin - Administrator role, the Logs view allows you to see a list of authentications made by your users (this tab is only visible to users with the Delegated Admin - Administrator role). The contents of this view are a subset of the data displayed in the Logs Dashboard. The Log Dashboard also displays data on administrative actions taken in the Dashboard.

Create Users

You can create a new user by selecting the + Create User button on the Users view. You need to specify are email and password. Depending on your role, you may not be able to set the Department to which the new user belongs.

For example, users with the Delegated Admin - Administrator role can see the Department field and select any of its values.

On the other hand, Kelly who has the Delegated Admin - User role and belongs to the Finance department cannot see this field. The user she creates will be automatically assigned to the Finance department.