Browser Limitations
In some cases, non-persistent sessions cannot be enforced by tenant settings. Examples include:- The user has a session restore setting on the browser enabled; restoring the session also restores the session cookie.
- The user closes a tab but not the browser window; the session cookie is not cleared until the session ends based on Idle or Absolute Expiration.
In these instances, non-persistent sessions do not provide extra security to the session.
Sessions
Sessions consist of a cookie on the browser and a session record on the server. In non-persistent sessions, cookies are not persisted, and a tenant timeout is set, so users don’t have to manually log out of a device. Session lifetime determines how long the system should keep the login session and is configured per tenant. TheAbsolute Expiration of a session is defined when the session is created. You can enable non-persistedsettings for user sessions, or allow the session to continue even if the browser is closed. You can adjust the Absolute Expiration and non-persisted settings in the Dashboard or the . To learn more, read Configure Session Lifetime Settings.Cookies
The Auth0 platform uses three types of cookies: session, , and device. All of these change to non-persistent once your Auth0 tenant is configured. The tenant timeout triggers the session expiration. When non-persistent sessions are enabled, the following cookies will be issued as session cookies when interacting with the :auth0/auth0_compatauth0-mf/auth0-mf_compatdid/did_compat
Tenant configuration
You can configure your tenant to handle sessions in one of two ways:- Persistent: session cookies persist when the browser is closed.
- Non-Persistent: session cookies do not persist. The browser retains session cookies until the browsing session is over. To learn more, read HTTP State Management Mechanism on IETF Datatracker.
- Go to Dashboard > Tenant Settings, and select the Advanced view.
-
Scroll to the Session Expiration section, locate Idle Session Lifetime and Maximum Session Lifetime, enter the desired settings, and select Save.