Database Connections

Database Connections

Auth0 provides database connections to authenticate users with an email/username and password. These credentials are securely stored in the Auth0 user store or in your own database.

You can create a new database connection and manage existing ones at Auth0 Dashboard > Authentication > Database:

Select connection

Scenarios

Typical database connection scenarios include:

Using the Auth0 user store

Auth0 provides the database infrastructure to store your users by default. This scenario provides the best performance for the authentication process since all data is stored in Auth0.

The Auth0-hosted database is highly secure. Passwords are never stored or logged in plain text but are hashed with bcrypt. Varying levels of password security requirements can also be enforced. To learn more, read Password Strength in Auth0 Database Connections.

Using your own user store

If you have an existing user store, or wish to store user credentials on your own server, Auth0 enables you to connect to a custom database or repository and use it as the identity provider.

![Custom Database Configuration](/media/articles/connections/database/dashboard-connections-database-edit_view-custom-database.png)

In this scenario, you provide the login script to authenticate the user that will execute each time a user attempts to log in. Optionally, you can create scripts for sign-up, email verification, password reset, and delete user functionality.

The scripts are Node.js code. Auth0 provides templates for most common databases, such as ASP.NET Membership Provider, MongoDB, MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQL Server, Windows Azure SQL Database, and for a web service accessed by Basic Auth. Essentially, you can connect to almost any kind of database or web service with a custom script.

Migrating to Auth0 from a custom user store

In this scenario, you have a legacy user store and wish to switch to the Auth0 store. Auth0 provides an automatic migration feature that adds your users to the Auth0 database one-at-a-time as each logs in and avoids asking your users to reset their passwords all at the same time. To learn more, read Configure Automatic Migration from Your Database.