Product Release Stages

Product Release Stages

Product release stages describe how we stage, release, and retire product functionality. Product features may not progress through all release stages, and the time in each stage will vary depending on the scope and impact of the feature.

Beta

Beta releases give subscribers time to explore new product capabilities while providing feedback prior to a next stage release (which may be Early Access or General Availability depending on the feature). Beta features have been validated for a set of use cases but might have changes on the road to a General Availability release. Beta releases may be restricted to a select number of subscribers (private) or open to all subscribers (public).

When participating in a beta release, you should understand the following:

  • We do not support beta functionalities for production use.

  • Changes may occur that impact functionality, and we will communicate them as we are made aware.

  • Your feedback will help prioritize improvements and fixes in a subsequent release.

Early Access

Early Access releases are new or enhanced features made available for you to selectively opt-in to and use in both production and non-production environments. Minor changes can be expected on the road to General Availability. Early Access releases may be restricted to a select number of subscribers or rolled out to a subset of tenants (i.e. available only to tenants hosted in Japan).

General Availability

General Availability releases are fully functional and available to all subscribers (limited by pricing tier or SKU purchase) for production use. Features in General Availability are supported and issues are addressed in accordance with your agreement with Okta.

Deprecation

Deprecated features are not supported for use by new subscribers, are not actively being enhanced, and are being only minimally maintained. Tenants using the feature at the time of deprecation will continue to have access.

Deprecation begins when we introduce new behavior that customers would experience as a change that impacts core authentication functionality without mediation and ends when the old behavior moves into the End of Life product release stage. During Deprecation, customers should engage in a migration to move away from the deprecated feature or behavior. See Migration Process for details.

Although we know that deprecations can be disruptive, they are necessary to allow us to upgrade technology, improve security and service quality, and continue to invest in resources that provide the most value for our customers. As part of our commitment to transparency, we try to proactively notify subscribers when deprecations result in changes that alter use of Auth0. Additionally, we try to provide end-of-life notices with accompanying recommendations for migration and replacement capabilities where available.

End of Life

Features that reach the End of Life stage are removed from the platform. Continued use of these features will likely result in errors.

Learn more

Was this article helpful?